My Fitness Journey: An Update

I cannot tell a lie; I have gotten lazy.  As much as a I preach hard work in all my posts, I must confess that I have been lazy.

As you can see, I haven't made much progress...

As you can see, I haven’t made much progress…

Ever since the beginning of the year started, I started to suffer from lack of motivation.  I’m not sure why this is happening, especially since I made a bet with Andy.  The bet was who could get the better body in four months and as of right now I am definitely on track to lose the bet because of my aforementioned loss of motivation.  I have been pondering the loss of my motivation, and have narrowed it down to two reasons.

The first reason is that I don’t worry too much about girls anymore.  Before, I really cared about girls and  how to get them.  I thought that the best way to do this was just by getting a great body.  After all, when was the last time you heard of a girl who didn’t like a six pack or biceps?  However I recently have learned that a great body is not actually essential to getting girls!  Who would’ve known?  Apparently all you need is confidence.

The second reason why I’ve been struggling is that I’ve been distracted by senior activities.  In one of my previous blogs, I mentioned that there will always be distractions that encourage laziness, and this phenomenon has happened to me.  Whenever I feel like working out, I end up choosing to hang out with friends.  Whatever the reason, there is always time to avoid exercising.

Recently, ultimate frisbee was introduced into my life.  I’m naturally not good at sports, so I’ve had to work harder than others to succeed.  This has become a catalyst for my return to the weight room, as I have to lift now, not to get girls, but to be better at sports.  I believe that this will be a much better motivation for me, and will lead to greater gains.

Leave a Reply

