New Year, New You

With the New Year coming about, everyone is making New Years Resolutions, the most common being to lose a certain amount of weight.  Although it’s a good thing that they make these resolutions now, I believe that starting doesn’t require a New Year.  The best thing you can do to get into shape, is to start right away.  You shouldn’t wait till New Years, the next birthday party, or for finals to be over.  Telling yourself that you don’t have time is an excuse.  If you really wanted to be fit, then you prioritize your day and make time for it.  But before even taking this step, you should ask yourself why you’re doing it.

Will that extra episode on Netflix really change your life?

The only thing keeping you on track in your quest is your drive.  Therefore, it is of utmost importance that this motivation be strong enough to get you to the gym when you’re sleeping in bed with a 103 degree fever, or when they day is simply not going your way.  For me, this motivation is keeping my body clean.    Throughout this year, our English class has had a somewhat unorthodox education.  We were going to change the world.  Our teacher introduced it to us by telling us that life is too short to be doing boring stuff.  At first, I was a bit turned off by curriculum, as I was used to just the standard reading books and writing essays.  However, as the class went on, I realized that trying to make a difference in the world made so much more sense than just writing an essay.  Life is fleeting, so why would I want to spend it doing things that won’t also benefit me now.  That’s why I exercise.  Not only will exercising get me in shape now, but it will also help me in the future.  A friend once told me, “I only get to live one life, so might as well make the most of it.”

Used in the right context, yolo can actually be useful

So what’s your motivation?  Is it that cute girl walking down the street?  Or is it just a desire to look better?  Whatever it is, make sure that it will help you achieve your goals.

Harrison p6

Leave a Reply

